Practice Areas

Florida DUI Defense Attorney

Urgent Warning!

WITHIN 10 DAYS OF YOUR ARREST YOU CAN:

  1. Challenge the DMV suspension of your driver’s license; or,
  2. Officially waive your right to a DMV hearing (1st Time DUI only) and get a hardship license without any ‘hard suspension’ of your right to drive to and from work!
Call for details. (844) 927-9653

Hard Suspension

Keep in mind that refusing to submit to a lawful breath, blood, or urine test results in a one (1) year DMV suspension of your driver’s license (regardless of what the court does in the criminal DUI case). But, if this is your second or third refusal the suspension periods are longer (as well as, other possible consequences).

If you don’t act within 10-days of your arrest in a typical 1st time DUI case; and, you:

  1. Performed a lawful breath, blood, or urine test; then you must serve a 30 day suspension of your driver’s license (Hard Suspension = NO DRIVING whatsoever) before you can apply for a Business Purposes Only (BPO) or Hardship License that allows you to drive to and from work; or
  2. Refused a lawful breath, blood, or urine test; then you must serve a 90 day suspension of your driver’s license (Hard Suspension = NO DRIVING whatsoever) before you can apply for a Business Purposes Only (BPO) or Harship License that allows you to drive to and from work.
  3. For a Second and Third DUI Hard Suspension Periods can be longer depending on prior actions.
Tip #1:

It is important to act within 10 days of your arrest for DUI to help preserve your rights. You have multiple options, including, but not limited to, challenging the DMV suspension of your driver’s license at a DMV administrative hearing.

Tip #2:

If you act within 10 days of your arrest for a 1sts time DUI; you may qualify for a Business Purposes Only (BPO) license [also referred to as a hardship license] without having to serve any hard suspension regardless of whether you consented or refused field sobriety tests.

FLORIDA DUI PENALTIES

The following is a chart providing an overview of the general DUI Penalties in Florida for first and second time DUI offenses.

dui